True friends are hard to find…

italygirls  friendspic

….harder to leave, and impossible to forget. These are the friends you hold on to for the rest of your life, and these friendships are the ones that start at Meredith. No matter where life takes you, your Meredith girls are by your side every step of the way. From holding your hand through the worst heartbreaks, to standing by your side as you say “I do”, to being the fun loving aunts to your children, your Meredith girls are the girls that you’ll share life’s biggest moments and hardest challenges with. As I sat here in my apartment, with one of my favorite friends from Meredith, trying to think of what fun topic to blog about next, it hit me that one of the most important and influential things that I took away from my Meredith years was my friendships. Thinking back, there were so many ups and downs, so many nights spent in tears and in laughter, so many memories shared with the girls that I’m so thankful to still have as my closest friends. Whether it was through sports, or class, or the infamous Cornhuskin, Meredith College brought the truest of friends into my life, and for that I am so thankful.

I can remember it like it was yesterday. We were finishing up softball practice when I suddenly felt sick to my stomach. As I walked over to pack up my bag, I glanced down at my phone only to see I had missed a phone call from my mom. Knowing that my Sittie (which means grandma in Arabic) was in failing health, I took a deep breath before returning her call. When I heard my dad’s voice on the other end of the line, I sat down right there on the field and cried. I knew it what was coming. All I wanted was to somehow magically transport myself home. I wanted my mom. I wanted my family. My Sittie was gone and I wasn’t there. But then I looked up and saw my friends sitting beside me. Here we were, all out of breath and exhausted from our intense abs workout, just wanting to go shower and relax, and my friends sat right there with me while I cried. I cried until I was all out of tears, and not a single girl left. Like I said, through the good and the bad, the happy and the sad, your Meredith friends are right by your side.

Fast forward two years and the adventure of a lifetime took place – study abroad. Now I’ll save the good stuff for a whole post dedicated to study abroad, because let’s face it, that in and of itself is life changing. But the friends that study abroad brought into my life are the friends that to this day I spend the majority of my time with. In fact, two of my very closest friends are girls that I survived Italy with. Just picture Monica, Phoebe and Rachel from the infamous tv show, Friends, and that’s us. There’s never a dull moment when we’re together, and I am more thankful for them than they will ever know. Life would be so boring without the laughter we’ve shared day after day.

From sharing a room for six weeks, to listening to each other’s awful monotone singing, to curling up in bed morning the loss of our hair straighteners, to perfecting the freezing temperature of our Italian diet coke, I was so lucky to build a friendship with my “roomie 4 lyfe”, Allison. We may not agree on sports teams – yeah she pulls for the wrong color blue – but through our experiences at Meredith, we’ve been through so much together, and our friendship is one that I know will last forever.

Now, the girl who I’m so lucky to call my co-teacher and one of my best friends, is in fact the same girl who was in my advising group my first year of being a student advisor. It wasn’t until we shared the experience of studying abroad together that we grew so close. Actually, if you ask her, she’ll tell you she didn’t like me at first because I was her advisor and I was going to make her participate in all things Meredith. It’s funny to look back now and laugh about how the times have changed. Now, she’s my go to whenever I need words of wisdom, or even a reality check! She’s the one who keeps me sane in the middle of all the chaos in our classroom. We’ve spent nights laughing until we cried reminiscing on our time together at Meredith. Eliza, I don’t know what I’d do without you.

These are just a few of the friendships that come to mind, and I’d be lying if I said when I think back on becoming friends with these girls, I get tears in my eyes thinking how lucky I am that Meredith College brought such strong friendships into my life. Maybe it’s because we’ve reached a time where friends are going their separate ways, or maybe it’s because life’s challenges seem to be getting harder and harder by the day, but as I sat here, I couldn’t help think how grateful I am that Meredith taught me to appreciate the friendships in life, and what it means to be a true friend. People come and go all throughout life, but there’s something that makes a Meredith friendship everlasting…special…unique. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but maybe that’s because you just have to experience it.

One thought on “True friends are hard to find…

Leave a Reply

