Boy Hours

neighbors

If you’re anything like I was, then one of the first misconceptions that comes to mind when thinking about an all girls school is boys. I mean why on earth would you want to spend your days with just girls? This is the first time you’re out on your own, no parents to tell you what to do, no curfew to follow, no one to stop you from staying out at a party all night. This is your shot to get out there and meet people….meet boys. You’ve probably heard stories on more than one occasion about how someone met their husband in their freshman college English class, or at the first home football game, or by going to an on campus mixer. You’ve also probably told yourself, that’s going to be me one day. But how can you meet Mr. Right if you’re at a school full of girls, and not only that, a school with “boy hours”.

Boy hours? What in the world? Is that a joke? Well, the good girl side of me says, yes, they’re real. The actual me, the 24 year old, looking back on those first two years spent in the dorms, says, nope, not real. I mean yes, they are an actual thing.“During Open House hours, male guests may enter through any residence hall door when accompanied by a Meredith student. During non-Open House hours, male guests must enter only through the first floor parlor doors. Males are not allowed on campus after closing hours (1:00 a.m. Sunday – Thursday; 2:00a.m. Friday and Saturday) except to accompany students to their residence halls. Then the male guest must immediately leave campus.” I mean when you read that, admit it, you laughed. I know I did. And trust me, boys laugh at it too, harder than you did, but the truth is, they’re the rules, and that’s the way it goes. And yes, these rules are upheld to the best of every RA’s abilities. They aren’t rules to be messed with…at least that’s what I’m supposed to say here. 🙂

What I’m not supposed say is way more entertaining though. Anyone can sit here and say, “I followed the rules. I didn’t sneak boys in,” to cover themselves from what would happen if someone found out, but let’s be honest, we all know it happens. Inside, every MCG is a little rebellious…okay a lot rebellious. If you’re reading this and you went to Meredith, or go there now, you know its true. There were many nights that boys were allowed up to the rooms during boy hours and somehow they “accidentally forgot to leave” when hours were over. I mean we’re all real people here. I won’t lie to you, I had guy friends come and stay with me. Sorry mom! Some of my best friends growing up were guys, and I wasn’t about to let some silly rules stop me from hanging out with them. I also want to add that it is way more fun to watch a guy do the “walk of shame” trying to leave Meredith without being seen by anyone. I mean usually it’s the girl trying to escape, but something about a boy trying to sneak out of an all girls dorm room on an all girls campus, it’s just so much funnier.

I could go on and elaborate on this whole sneaking boys in thing, but instead, I want to point out some things I learned along the way, and some things I’ve learned looking back. When I was there, in the moment, of course I didn’t want some silly “boy hours” to stop me from being with my friends. But do these hours really stop you from meeting and hanging out with boys? Are they really all that bad? In all honesty, no. In fact, after I had my fair share of laughing about the concept of “boy hours” and breaking the rules, I realized there are so many positive things that come from this crazy concept.

Lets start with the basics: you don’t have to dress to impress. I mean don’t get me wrong, every MCG loves to get dolled up and rock the latest fashions, but when it’s time to roll out of bed at 7:50 for your 8:00 am class, “ain’t nobody got time for that”. I would need quite a few extra sets of hands and toes to count the number of times I rolled right out of bed, put on my leggings, a big t-shirt, and slipped on my flip flops before strolling to class. With no boys around, you can look your worst, and no one cares. Then, there’s the intimidation factor. Let’s be honest, no girl wants to speak up in class and risk embarrassing herself by getting the answer wrong in front of that cute boy she’s crushing on. Well, at Meredith, you don’t have to be afraid of that. You learn to speak up and speak your mind. You learn that your voice matters and that what you have to say is important. There’s a sense of importance that becomes fostered in you. You’re motivated and empowered. You become the strong woman helping to make your place in this world.

I’ve also found that because I was afraid to push my luck one too many times and sneak boys in, I started going out more. Maybe those crazy boy hours were actually invented to help you get out there and make friends. I mean you can’t sit in your dorm room all day and expect prince charming to just come knocking at your door. You’ve got to get out there. Go to that frat party down the street…just remember, everyone makes the mistake of thinking that’s cool their freshman year. Go out downtown with your friends on weekends, or on a Wednesday night for Rum Runners College Night. You’re in one of the biggest cities in the state. Get out and have fun. Boy hours might prevent you (or try to) from bringing boys in, but it makes you go out. When you step back and think about it, this is just another way Meredith is helping to shape and mold you into the person you’re meant to be. So laugh all you want, because believe me, the concept of “boy hours” still to this day makes me laugh, but trust me, you’ll see…you just have to experience it!

One thought on “Boy Hours

  1. Angel Jackson says:

    As one of those RAs that tried to uphold this rule, we knew it was being broken but there was only so much that could be done haha. I love how you expanded on the benefits of no boys though. The one semester I had a boy in my class was the most distracting. Loving the blog girl!

    Like

Leave a Reply

